The top five countries with the most Copa America titles are as follows:


The CONMEBOL oversees the Copa America, South America’s biggest football competition for national teams.

The competition, which began in 1916, is the oldest continuously operating international football tournament.

The Copa America has featured some of the best players in history, including Lionel Messi, Pele, Diego Maradona, Luis Suarez, and Ronaldo Nazario, increasing its appeal to fans worldwide.
Argentina, Brazil, and Uruguay are among the most popular national teams in the world. As a result, it stands to reason that the Copa America is one of the most prestigious international tournaments on the planet.

In addition, the competition is famously difficult to win. The very physical aspect of South American football, combined with the comparable styles of the competitors, contributes to the fascination of Copa matches.

The Copa America has had 47 editions since 1916, with the schedule and structure changing over the course of its 105-year history.
Only two CONMEBOL member countries, Ecuador and Venezuela, have yet to win the Copa America.

In contrast, several of the continent’s more established teams have fared significantly better in the competition.

The following is a list of the five countries with the most Copa America titles.

Note: When two or more countries have the same number of trophies, runners-up medals are used to break the tie.
Also read: Fabrizio Romano’s Transfer Roundup: Manchester United pushing for two more signings, Barcelona’s intentions for Lionel Messi, and more.

#5 Chile – 2 titles (4 runners-up)

Chile won the Copa America Centenario
Chile won the Copa America Centenario

Chile finished third in the FIFA World Youth Championship in 2007. The core of that side, which included Alexis Sanchez, Arturo Vidal, Gary Medel, and Mauricio Isla, went on to become senior national team regulars.

Chile returned to the World Cup after a 12-year absence by reaching the knockout phase in South Africa three years later, a performance they replicated four years later.

Their crowning achievement occurred in 2015, when they won the Copa America on home soil, defeating Argentina on penalties in the final. Chile’s 99-year journey for continental success has finally come to an end.

Lightning struck twice for the Chileans, as they defeated the same opponent on penalties again a year later in a special edition to commemorate the tournament’s 100th anniversary.

Argentina had lost their third consecutive final in as many years, prompting a visibly distraught Lionel Messi to infamously proclaim his international retirement.

Chile also finished second four times, in 1955, 1956, 1979, and 1987.

See also: Six of the finest players who never received an international call-up

Paraguay is ranked fourth with two titles (6 runners-up)

Paraguay are two-time winners of the Copa America
Paraguay are two-time winners of the Copa America

In South American football, Paraguay holds a unique position. They are not quite large enough to consistently challenge the big three, but they have traditionally outperformed the rest of the field.

As a result, it is no surprise that they are the fourth most successful team in Copa America history.

La Albirroja won the South American championship in 1953 and 1979. They were also runner-up six times, with their most recent final loss being in 2011.

Also read: Seven European clubs vying for a treble

Leave a reply